REVIEWS //

Date: 12.25.13| Posted by: Kim B
We had a great party at the wonderful Chapel Bar. ALL the staff were friendly and went out of their way making sure we had a fantastic night and that I got in a cab home too! Blair, best bar manager ever! Thanks guys amazing night. We will be back....

-------------

Date: 20.12.13 | Posted by: Diana/UCLH
Just wanted to say thank you for arranging a good Christmas party for us and thank all the bar staff and Blair is it for being so nice and hospitable last night. Everyone had a great night!

-------------

Date: 12.18.13| Posted by: Lianne/Intent Media
We had our Christmas do here in December 2013. Just under 90 of us. Absolutely brilliant day and evening. Would thoroughly recommend this bar. The food was amazing and the staff were great. Thank you guys!

-------------

Date: 16.11.13| Posted by: Natalie Keen
Our wedding party at the Chapel Bar was amazing. The DJ played exactly what we wanted. Alex did an amazing and romantic tasting evening and the food on the night was brilliant. Blair & the bar staff were so lovely, and the whole thing was great. Loved it

-------------

Date: 12.10.13| Posted by: Simon/Eviivo
We had our staff Festive Celebration at the Chapel Bar and it was excellent all round - the staff were efficient and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. The food was superb, especially the slow roasted lamb!

-------------

Date: 12.3.13| Posted by: Matt & Becks
Thank you so much! we had our engagement party here on 30/11/13. We and all our friends had an amazing time! The Staff were fantastic! Blair, the bar manager is so efficient and made sure the night was perfect for us! Thank you so much! Highly recommend!

-------------

Date: 12-18-13| Posted by: Lianne Davey / INTENT MEDIA
Dear All,
We had our Christmas do here in December 2013. Just under 90 of us. Absolutely brilliant day and evening. Would thoroughly recommend this bar. The food was amazing and the staff were great. Thank you guys!

-------------

Date: 11.12.13| Posted by: Eviivo
Just wanted to drop you a line to say thank you to you, Blair and the team for Friday night – a good time was had by all and I have received many positive comments about the catering, so please pass this on to the chef.

-------------

Date: 29 August 2013 12:54 | Posted by: Jocelyn and Christoph
Dear All,
We are now back in Berlin and we wanted to say thank you for the lovely party last Saturday.The food was great, Arthur and his team did a very good job and we had a lot of fun.
We want to thank you again and wish you a nice week.Maybe till next time ;)

-------------

Date: 08.04.13 | Posted by: Mr & Mrs Cassaretto
Luke, Alex and Blair,
I think I've finally recovered enough from my hangover to write this!  Thank you so so much for Saturday - my guests were blown away by the venue, food and service and we couldn't have had such an amazing wedding day without all your hard work.  I've been told by many people that it was the best wedding they've ever been to, and you three definitely have to take a lot of the credit for that. The decorations looked perfect and everything went like clockwork - Blair has a lot of fans amongst my family and friends now, including myself!  The food was absolutely stunning as well - beyond anything we could have hoped for. I can't say that we remember the last few hours all that well(!) but the party was definitely enjoyed by all!

-------------

Date: 22.03.13 | Posted by: Bryony Day 
Just a very quick email to say thank you (and to all your staff) for an amazing evening last night! We all had a brilliant time, few sore heads this morning! Thanks, Bryony

-------------

Date: 01.02.13 | Posted by: Mr and Mrs Goodman
Atmosphere Very good Decor Very good Service Excellent Simon and I wanted to enjoy every aspect of our wedding preparations and the most important thing we found were the people we chose to create elements of our special day. So we felt incredibly lucky to find Alex and Luke at The Chapel Bar, London to host our wedding reception. From the outset we knew we could openly discuss ideas, prices, food, décor and all the other elements for our special day with absolutely no pressure and only an eagerness to make it what we wished for. Any questions we had were promptly replied to and we popped back and forth before the wedding and got deliveries on the day which was all no trouble at all. All the venue research paid off and we found a London venue that allowed us to have our friends and families contribute as DJ's, florists, bakers, master of ceremony, photographers meant it really was the homemade, warm, joyful wedding we had hoped it would be. Nothing however could take away the care and attention that Alex made on our food, all our guests have said how tasty it was! A rare gem in London town which made our wedding day complete!

-------------

Date: 10.12.12 | Posted by: MillA
We held my husband's 50th at the Chapel Bar and it was fantastic. We had about 100 people and it was perfect.There is plenty of room for everyone to stand around and it is great to have a dedicated dance floor which is situated at the far end of the bar which means people at the other end can still manage to chat. The food was delicious and everyone raved about it. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. If you are having a party you would have to work very hard to find a better venue than this.

-------------

Date: 10.12.12 | Posted by: IKMUK
Solid establishment!  Threw a charity fundraiser at this gem of a venue, with Luke and Blair helping us all the way in the planning and execution.  Initial information provided was great, with Luke showing our event organisers around The Chapel and explaining what was on offer. What was particularly impressive was the care and time that was taken to explain the terms and conditions in the contract and clarify requirements to avoid any confusion from the outset. The night itself was very well planned and ran smoothly. Friendly bar staff, friendly security and an atmosphere helped us raise a decent amount of cash on the night.  Thanks go to The Chapel for their professionalism.

-------------

Date: 09.12.12 | Posted by: emya23
Just had my best friend's surprise 30th Birthday party at the Chapel Bar, and I wouldn't usually bother to write a review, but we had the best time and organising the party, even though it was a surprise, was made as easy as pie by the team there. I was quite shocked to see the odd bad review, but I had a highly positive and personal experience so that is what I will write about. The service from the manager was exemplary and he really made me feel like everything was under control. He arranged everything from cocktails on arrival to a great, fun dj, the food, and even helped me source a cake and a red carpet at very short notice. The late licence is great in London as so many places close at 12 or 1, and we wouldn't have been finished partying on the dance floor, which incidentally is nice and spacious. We felt like we had a club to ourselves for the night. The food was way beyond what I expected for a bar. Fabulous quality, very flavoursome and all served by waiting staff, which made the whole thing classy and grown up (before the dancing started!) Again the manager and his kitchen team were really helpful advising me what works well, how much to order etc. A big thanks to the Chapel Bar team, we had a great night and I am hoping someone will organise me a similarly fabulous 30th party!

-------------

Date: 05.10.12 | Posted by: Fifty
I cannot praise the Chapel Bar enough. We booked the upstairs bar for Sept 21st. Luke could not have been more helpful in the run-up to the party. On the night, the service was second to none. The bar staff were attentive and caring without being at all intrusive; the food was excellent. I would recommend the Chapel Bar without reservation.

-------------

Date: 24.09.12 | Posted by: Pumpkin24
I had my wedding reception at the Chapel Bar this weekend and just have to take a moment to commend the entire team! It was everything I had hoped for and more. They were so accommodating from start to finish and we built up a fantastic professional relationship, they knew exactly how I wanted the wedding to be and look! So Thank you Chapel team, especially the manager who was at my beck and call the week before! The fabulous food, the flowing drinks, amazing music and attentive service made our day memorable! Would highly recommend you all and really wanted to take the time to say it! take care x

-------------

Date: 24.09.12 | Posted by: Graduategirl2012
Just had my graduation and 31st birthday party here on sat 22nd September and the service was brilliant! The management communicated with me for weeks before the booking and also met me at the venue on the day before handing over to the bar staff. The bar staff were young in age but provided an excellent service to my guests. Not one of my guests had issues. The security were even better, so polite and overall the venue was the best place I could of chosen. Reasonably priced bar, all drinks available, bar stocked nicely and some really nice cocktails. The music was great and overall I had a great night. To be honest the staff are what made it so memorable as there was nothing too big or small for them to do that I asked. Parking facilities were great and the venue inside is lovely. The dance-floor area was nice and the chill out bar area is amazingly decorated. Will defo use chapel bar again and would recommend it for birthday party's, weddings etc. Did not have food as it was not needed for my party but the menu they provided beforehand was excellent. May use venue for summer family wedding!

-------------

Date: 27.02.12 | Posted by: Kazza
I had my 40th birthday party here Feb 2012, it was amazing, venue was excellent,smart, great size space & dance floor, staff very helpful, friendly & professional. In lead up to party staff were very accomodating & communication was prompt.  The party was off the Hook, I would recommend this venue to people who enjoy a good rave with fun people behind the bar. 

-------------

Date: 30.06.12 | Posted by: Ayo
I just wanted to say thank you to you and your team for making my boyfriend's birthday a memorable occasion.Everyone loved the venue and you will definitely get more bookings from the attendees of the event.
Thanks once again, Ayo

-------------

Date: 25.05.12 | Posted by: Ayo
I just wanted to say thank you so much for Friday, everything about the whole day was perfect! The bar looked beautiful the food was amazing and everyone was just so lovely and helpful! Luke I think my Nan left with a huge crush on you and Alex we've been telling everyone about your restaurant because they've been praising the food so much. My family were also very impressed that you were able to provide a meat cleaver for the cake cutting, that's how you do it when your a Rustem!
Please could pass on our thanks to Sam too, he was so great we wanted to keep him! And the DJ was brilliant too, we're so pleased we hired the Chapel!!

-------------


11.02.12
hello all chapel bar,
thank you so much for a wicked party last saturday 11th feb, the head bar man Sam was excellent, as were all bar staff & security. They really made the night, all of the staff were very friendly, professional and fun. I will recommend you anytime, please pass on my thanks to all those involved in making my 40 th off the hook.
cheers Kaz x

-------------


11.02.12
Hi Luke
Hi Luke, A big thank you to your staff members Richard and Sam, they were both very helpful and discreet for my function on Saturday in the upstairs bar. Also thank you for letting us in early to decorate and end after 8pm, (we were out by 8:30pm) which was much appreciated. The food went down a treat and the whole experience was a pleasure. Once again thank you and your staff. 10 out of 10.
Regards Linda

-------------


10.02.12
To all at the chapel bar,
I just wanted to say a quick thank you for an absolutely fantastic night on Friday. I and everyone else had a brilliant night. You have a great venue, the food was lovely and the staff were all really friendly on the night especially Hugo and the doormen! Luke and Alex thanks for all your help with organising it and for loaning the lap-top on the night. I think the place was a bit of a mess when we left so apologies for that.
Thanks again for everything,Felicity

-------------


9.12.11
Hi Luke
I just wanted to pop you a quick email to say thank you so much for all your help and hard work last night. Our client has come back to us saying the guests had a fantastic night. They’ve asked me to pass on their thanks as the food was delicious, and the service was excellent. They said that you and your team did a wonderful job looking after them.
Thanks again for everything and have a lovely Christmas and New years!
Kind regards, Katie

-------------


25.11.11
Hi Luke
Just wanted to say thanks to the Chapel Bar for hosting mine and my mate's birthday party on the 25th Nov. Everyone had a great night, staff were cool and venue is fantastic.
Many thanks again,Mark

-------------


02.11.11
Hi Luke
Thanks Luke. Quick thank you as well, everything ran swimmingly on the night, top job by yourself and your staff. I’ll definitely be recommending.
Many thanks, Vish

-------------


03.10.11
Hi Luke
Just wanted to say thank you to you and your team for an enjoyable night on Saturday. The food was excellent and the staff looked after us very well.
Many thanks, Kavan

-------------


23.9.11
Hi Luke
How are you mate? Just wanted to say a massive thankyou , your staff and the venue itself was amazing on Friday night. All my guests had a brilliant time (as did I) , can't speak more highly of your team/venue.
Cheers mate , Denis

-------------


26.07.11
Hi Alex
Great night and great feedback. A big thank you to you and your wonderful staff for everything.
I’ll have a look at your other venue website when I get five minutes but will certainly recommend you and the team to everyone I know.
Lesley Styles
PA to Julie Towers - Managing Director, Recruitment Solutions
Penna Plc

-------------


9.7.11
Hi,
Well guys, what can I say, you went beyond our expectations, even if we looked for a fault we would never find one.
The guys on the door ensured all our guest had cabs within minutes of us asking for one, they were great, so friendly and helpful.
The bar staff, what can I say about them, I am struggling to find words that can big them up enough, all diamonds.
The food, everyone has said it was the best food they have had at a wedding, sadly me and Michael were running round checking on everyone we didn't even eat a sausage.
Alex was so helpful when I arrived a little stressed at lunch time with my table settings.
The DJ, got it so so right, he expanded my play list perfectly.
I can not sing the Chapel Bars praises enough, what a great place, you made out night.
The flowers were so lovely and perfect, exactly what I asked for.
Once again Luke, well done and thank you thank you thank you.
DIAMONDS - Best wishes, Vicki & Michael.

-------------


01.05.11
Hi Luke,
I want to write to thank you for all the work that you put into Sunday. The event was a great success and all your planning really paid off. I'm sure we'll want to do exactly the same event next year, so please make a note of any useful details so we don't need to re-invent the wheel. I'll be in touch as soon as we have a date confirmed.

Also, please pass on my thanks to Donald. I've worked with lots of venue managers over the years, but he is simply the best. Incredibly helpful and a real pleasure to work with. I'm very grateful you suggested him.
Best wishes,Daniel

-------------


03.04.11
Dear Luke,
Just to thank you and your team, and especially Donald who should be cherished as a national treasure, for a totally wonderful evening. It has been a pleasure dealing with all of you from the moment I first came round to check the club out and bumped into Donald on the door step to when we left. Everything went well, the food was praised and was indeed more than sufficient, the bar staff and wait staff were gracious and helpful, the children were tolerated and then gracefully evacuated before 11, Donald kept me calm, the bouncers flexed their admirable muscles with humour and everyone had a ball.
Many, many thanks,Georgia

-------------


2.3.11
The Good Eggs
HI Luke and Donald, We just wanted to thank you both so so much for everything that you did to make such a wonderful night possible. The whole thing was so much smoother than we could have ever expected. Your security guys were absolutely the most charming that anyone has ever know and literally everyone at the night commented on that. It made a huge difference.
Everyone had a brilliant night and you guys made it so easy for us so thank you. We've recieved the deposit back; thanks so much for that.

-------------


12.2.11
Jo
Just wanted to say THANKS for allowing us to have the bar for our birthday. Me, Nat and all our friends had a fab night!!

-------------


11/02/2011
Kate and Lesley
Lesley and I just wanted to say a huge thank you for all the help with our party on Friday. We had a really great time and you and all your staff were so helpful and friendly.
The venue was just perfect for us and we had lots of lovely compliments on the canapes.
Thank you again and see you for our 50th!!!

-------------


27/01/2011
JoePoole
I hired the ground floor bar of the Chapel Bar for my 40th in January 2011 and had a fantastic time. The breakdown:

VENUE
The ground floor area was perfect for my needs with a generous seating/bar area and equally generous separate dance floor space. This allowed a perfect mix of space for those that wanted to chat in comfort and those looking to "get down". I looked at several other bars in the Angel area and nothing else was in the same class for a comparable minimum spend.

MUSIC
Chose to manage this myself from a mix of pre-planned playlists and DJ friends so cannot really comment on what the venue might offer but the facilities were beyond reasonable reproach.

FOOD
This is optional of course but I pre-order a few food platters (quails, lamb kebabs, sushi rolls, veg dim sum, spicy prawns) and these went down amazingly well. I was still getting good feedback from guests weeks later. Generous portions, great tasting (particularly those yummy quails) and served by roaming staff. Included in the minimum spend.

DRINK
Drinks were fine. A little on the expensive side for Angel I would say but not outrageous.

STAFF
I was a bit concerned about this given the comments in the one star reviews on this site (very similar - 2 reviews from the same source?). All I can say is that nothing could be further from the truth. All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. They were utterly professional at all times - constantly keeping me aware of my tab spend. In particular, as others have said, Luke, the manager, is fantastic - a real asset to this business.

If you are looking to arrange a private function do not hesitate to book the Chapel Bar.
Thanks,Joe

-------------


8.2.11
Emilie
A big thank you to you and your fantastic staff for a great lunch and party on Saturday. The food was amazing, both the lunch and the canapes, and we've had lots of lovely comments about the party venue from the evening guests! .
Thanks,Emilie

-------------

Reviews 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Check out our reviews above.

Established in 1999, The Chapel Bar has grown from strength to strength by hosting high profile corporate events, media launches, wedding receptions, live gigs, clubbing events and private parties. Alex Foley, the proprietor, prides himself in keeping and exceptionally high standard, both of service and delicious homemade mediterranean cuisine.



Chapel Menus & Hire Pack
To view our menus, please download our menu pack PDF.

Please inform us of any allergies you or your guests have as many dishes contain dairy, gluten, nuts & shellfish. We cannot guarantee that any items are free from traces of nuts. In our kitchen we do handle products contain nuts.
Click here to contact:
info@thechapelbar.co.uk
Welcome to The chapel Bar, 29a Penton Street, Islington, Central London N1 9PX
The Chapel bar can provide Private Venue Hire NW1, Private Events, Private Meeting Venue, Hen Parties, Hen Party Venue, Hen Party Nights, meeting Venue & Conference venue for Corporate Events, Wedding Venue, Wedding Catering, Wedding Parties, Wedding Receptions, Conference, Party Venue & Event Management within easy reach of:
Clerkenwell, Farringdon, Angel Station, Islington, City, Kings Cross, Camden Town, Holborn, Shoreditch, Bethnal Green, Highbury, Finsbury, Highgate, Hampstead, Paddington, City London, Whitechapel, Clapton, Kensington and Barnsbury. As well as N1, NW1 Central London, City London, North London, and east London
©2012 The Chapel Bar N1 all rights reserved.
Site design by & Maintained by MCB